Ogun Assembly Speaker impeached 


Ogun Assembly Speaker impeached 

The Speaker, Ogun House of Assembly , Olakunle Oluomo (APC-Ifo1) was Impeached by 18  lawmakers out of 21 member assembly on Tuesday, during plenary presided over by the Deputy Speaker , Mrs Bolanle Ajayi (APC-Yewa South).

The Assembly equally elected Mr Oludaisi Elemide (APC-Odeda)as the new speaker.

Mr Adegoke Adeyanju (APC-Yewa North 1), moved the motion for the speakers impeachment while it was seconded by Mr Ademola Adeniran (APC-Sagamu11).

Adeyanju had entered the assembly chamber with the Maze in company of other lawmakers.

Speaking to newsmen after being elected as the new speaker, Elemide explained that the people of the state should expect the best from him.

” We are law abiding legislators .
We want the world to know that there has been changed in leadership.

” 18 members signed for me to be the speaker. People should remain calm. We are in custody of all the authority of the house. We are saying that the new leadership will support the governor.

” The governor does not know anything about this impeachment,” he said.

Also speaking to newsmen, Mr Damilola Soneye (APC-Obafemi Owode), noted that the office of the speaker is to be first among equals.

” The speaker was impeached due to gross misconduct which bothers on high handedness, lack of focus and transparency, arrogance and poor leadership style, financial misappropriation and inciting members against themselves,” he said.

The Clerk and the Deputy Clerk, Mr Deji Adeyemo and Mrs Funmilayo Adeyemi were also at the plenary.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here