Akingbade wins Imeko Afon assembly seat, promises continuous better representation


The incumbent lawmaker representing Imeko-Afon State Constituency in the Ogun State House of Assembly, Hon. Jemili Akingbade, has won the All Progressives Congress (APC) House of Assembly ticket at the party’s primaries in Ogun State.

Hon. Akingbade polled 47 out of 50 votes cast at the primary election to defeat five other challengers which included the 2019 Allied People’s Movement’s House of Assembly candidate, Mr Muisdeen Sanusi popularly called Mese, Messrs Kunle Adisa, Matthew Idowu Idoma, James Oguntoke, Adetayo Aderemi, Ogudu Sunday and Taoreed Adenle who scored 0 votes each.

While declaring the result, the Election Committee Chairman, Mr Adeleye Abiodun, said Hon. Jemili Akingbade scored 47 votes while the former APM candidate, Mr Muisdeen Sanusi and other four aspirants scored 0 votes each.

Having scored the highest votes cast, Mr Abiodun, who, in the presence of all aspirants’ agents declared Hon. Jemili Akingbade winner, explained that a total of 47 accredited votes were cast with three invalid due to the absence of three delegates.

Speaking after his declaration, Hon Akingbade commended the process and described it as free, fair and transparent, as there was no undue influence or interference from any quarter.

He maintained that the outcome of the election showed the hardwork and unrelenting efforts he put into the process, thanking the delegates for considering him worthy for a return to the State House of Assembly once again.

Akingbade thanked Governor Dapo Abiodun and the electoral committee for ensuring the people’s votes count, assuring that he would spare no effort at giving a quality representation for his constituents better than he has done in the past years.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here