Yewa Honours Senator Adeola, IGP, Deputy Governor


It was a day of honour on Saturday, October 7 in Yewaland for those deserving it. Amid glamour and excitement the people of the area showered encomium on some of its illustrious sons including Senator Solomon Adeola(APC,Ogun West),chairman of Senate Committee on Appropriations, Mr. Kayode Egbetokun, acting Inspector General of Police, Dr. Isiaq Salako, Minister of State for Environment and the Deputy Governor of Ogun State, Engr Noimot Salako-Oyedele.

The people under the aegis of Yewa People Development Council (YPDC bestowed on Senator Adeola a meritorious award for his unparalleled contribution to the development of Yewaland and Ogun West in recent times.

According to YPDC, the Yewa Special Awards and Civic Reception, is the first in events line up to mark this year’s Yewa Cultural Festival.

The Chairman, YPDC Board of Trustees, the Olu of Ilaro and the Paramount rulerof Yewaland, Oba (Dr) Kehinde Gbadewole Olugbenle, commended all the awardees for their status and contribution to the development of the Yewaland, Ogun State and Nigeria adding that they are all deserving of the Awards as recognition to spur them for more impact on the society.

The Paramount ruler noted that the Yewa people Development council, with the slogan ‘ United for Development’ is a non -profit organisation, with the objective to prevent exclusion and foster inclusion as well as community strengthening through supporting, developing and promoting unity within Yewa communities, saying the award was therefore instituted to recognise and appreciate deserving indigenes of Yewaland.

In her remarks on behalf of all the awardees, Engr Noimot Salako-Oyedele thanked the YPDC for the award and assured them of the commitment of the Ogun State Government to the development of Yewaland.

She then gave a call to all sons and daughters of Ogun West to join hands in creating a shared vision for the region, one that prioritises the well being of all ethnic groups in the area, stating that with genuine cooperation, tremendous opportunities can be unlocked for the all round development of Yewaland therefore building a future defined by prosperity and harmony.

Salako-Oyedele charged Ogun Westerners to celebrate the unique history as well as the cultural heritage synonymous with region while also respecting and honouring their distinct identities.

Appreciating the Olu of Ilaro and Paramount ruler of Yewa land for his efforts at ensuring unity and oneness reigns in the land, she applauded the YEWA People Development Council for the award, saying it was a cherished Honour which she said serves as a reminder to herself and other awardees of the responsibility they have to the development of the homeland.

Also speaking, the Honourable Minister of State for Environment, Hon. Isiaq Salako, appreciated the organisers for the honour done on him, promising to contribute his quota towards the development of Yewaland, Ogun state and the country at large.

Earlier in his welcome address, Chairman planning committee of Yewa Special Award and reception, Prof. Rahman Bello, said the event was a show-biz of sorts for Yewaland and its people, stressing the need to always celebrate distinguished sons and daughters of Yewaland for their outstanding performances in their chosen endeavours

He disclosed that the one week event would showcase football competition, cultural shows and other exciting activities that would impact positively on the people of Yewaland. He appreciated President Bola Ahmed Tinubu for appointing Hon. Isiaq Salako as the Minister of State for Environment and Barrister Festus Keyamo as Minister of Aviation, and Governor Dapo Abiodun for the developmental strides in Ogun West.

Other awardees at the event Hon. Isiaq Akinlade, Hon. Member, House of Reps, Yewa South/Ipokia, Hon. Tunji Akinosi, Member House of Reps, Ado-Odo Ota, Hon. Gboyega Isiaka, Member Reps, Yewa North/Imeko-Afon, Barr. Festus Keyamo, Hon. Minister of Aviation, Asst. Comptroller General, Nigeria Customs Service Adeogun Alajogun and the Ogun State Head of Service, Mr Kolawole Fagbohun.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here