Adeola returns to Senate, wins Ogun-West Senatorial District


Sen. Solomon Adeola of APC has been declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) as winner of Ogun-West Senatorial District in the Saturday Presidential and National Assembly election in Ogun.

Prof. Oluseye Onabanjo, the INEC Returning Officer for the Ogun-West Senatorial District, made the declaration on Sunday at Orona Hall in Ilaro.

Onabanjo said that Adeola polled a total of 112, 887 votes to defeat his closest rival, Chief Ganiyu Obanibasiri of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 60,189 votes.

“Solomon Adeola of APC, having scored the highest votes of 112,887, is hereby declared the winner of the election conducted on Feb. 25 for the Ogun-West Senatorial District,” Onabanjo said.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Adeola, who is the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Finance, is currently representing Lagos-West Senatorial District at the Senate.

Adeola, popularly known as Yayi, in an interview with journalists at Ilaro, expressed satisfaction with the results, thanking God and his people for the overwhelming confidence and trust they expressed through their votes.

“I want to assure you that having gone round the 59 wards of the district, I am aware of the developmental challenges facing my people in the area of infrastructure, energy, education and healthcare.

“Even, before the election, I have started addressing some of these challenges.

“I promise to continue in similar pattern in the days, weeks and months ahead,” he said.(NAN)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here