3 Ogun lawmakers defect to APC


Three members of the Ogun House of Assembly from African Democratic Congress (ADC) on Tuesday, defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The lawmakers announced their defection in separate letters read by the Speaker of the Assembly, Mr Olakunle Oluomo (APC–Ifo1), during a plenary in Abeokuta.

The defectors are: Messers Jemili Akingbade (imeko Afon) the Minority Whip,  Adegoke Adeyanju (Yewa North 1),  Chairman, House Committee on Health and Wahab Haruna (Yewa North 11), Chairman, House Committee on Environment. 

They stated that they decided to join the ruling party after due consultations with constituents and supporters. 

In his response, the speaker , congratulated them for joining the ruling party,  saying there coming would be for the betterment of the party and the development of the state government at large. 

Seven members of the Allied People’s Movement (APM) recently defected to the APC. 

Out of the 26 members of the House, APC now has 25 while the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has one member. 

Leave a Response