Teachers honour Reps. deputy minority whip, Adekoya with outstanding recognition award


The Deputy Minority Whip of the House of Representatives, Hon Abdel-Majid Adesegun Adekoya was on Wednesday honoured with an outstanding recognition award by the leadership of the Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT) at the 7th Quadrennial National Delegates’ Conference in Ibadan, the Oyo state capital.

Presenting the award tagged Palladium Prize of Teachers Award on behalf of the apex body of NUT, the Governor of Kebbi state, Alhaji Atiku Bagudu, said the Reps member representing Ijebu North, Ijebu East and Ogun Waterside federal constituency at the Green Chamber was celebrated for his role in sponsoring the bill of an upward review of teachers retirement age from 60-65 years and service from 35-40 years.

Adekoya, prominently known as Attacker in Nigeria had earlier sponsored the bill in the house in 2018, and made painstaking effort in making sure the bill got the Presidential assent in 2022.

The federal lawmaker also recently yielded to the yearnings of teachers in his constituency by donating three brand new buses to NUT in Ogun state.

Speaking earlier, the National President of NUT, Comrade Audu Amba said the awardee was honoured for his ingenuinety and immense contribution to the educational sector in the country.

“The NUT acknowledges the roles played by Federal Legislators, especially the Distinguished Senate President, Speaker of the House of Representatives and Hon. Adekoya Adesegun Abdel-Majid, (who first sponsored the Bill in the House in 2018, the Hon. Minister and Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Education amongst other top Government functionaries. I am therefore pleased to state that the NUT will be presenting Awards at this conference to the underlisted personalities in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the welfare of teachers and the development of Education in the country.”

Othe awardees include President Muhammadu Buhari, the Senate President, Senator Ahmed Lawan, the Speaker of House of Representatives, RT. Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila, Kebbi state governor, Alhaji Atiku Bagudu, Lagos State Governor and his Oyo state counterpart; Babajide Sanwoolu and Seyi Makinde, among others.

Dignitaries who accompanied Hon Adekoya to the award presentation ceremony include Chief Medical Director (CMD) of UCH, Prof Jesse Abiodun Otegbayo, Mr David Mounboluwaji Adedayo Prince Femi Soyewo, Chief S. Adeleye, Prince Adegbesan Sogbesan, Hon. Jimoh Bakare, and Hon. (Mrs.) Ikeade Adegbesan.

Others were Princess Abosede Oduneye, Chief S. I. Soyewu, Princess Mulikat Bakare, IFELODUN Ward Chairmen and All Think Thank Leaders group in Ijebu North local government.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here