Insecurity: OGHA urges Ogun Govt. to station security vans in border towns


The Ogun Assembly on Tuesday passed a resolution urging the State Government to station patrol vans and other security apparatus in border towns and communities hosting tertiary institutions.

Mr Yusuf Sherif (APC–Ado Odo Ota 1), the Majority Leader, moved the motion and was seconded by Mr Ganiyu Oyedeji (APM – Ifo 11), the Minority Leader during plenary in Abeokuta.

The resolution was consequent upon rising cases of crimes in the state.
Earlier, the Deputy Speaker, Mr Dare Kadiri (APC – Ijebu North 11) had reported incessant clashes by rival cult groups in his constituency.

Mr Solomon Osho (APC – Remo North), also spoke about the recent kidnap and eventual release of one of his constituents, Motunrayo Baliqis in Remo area of the state.

Responding, the Speaker Olakunle Oluomo (APC – Ifo 1), frowned at rising insecurity in the country.

Oluomo expressed confidence that the proposed South West Security Network “Operation Amotekun” was capable of nipping insecurity in the bud in the South West.

He urged residents of the state to provide credible information to security agencies for smooth discharge of their duties in ensuring security of lives and property.

In another development, the House had also cleared Gov. Dapo Abiodun’s nominees for the position of Chairman and members of the Ipokia Local Government Transition Committee after they were screened.

This followed the adoption of the report of the House Committee on Selection.

The nominees, whose names were earlier transmitted to the House for approval on Feb. 3, included Abolurin Kabir (Chairman ), Apo Ezekiel (Vice Chairman), Adeosun Mulikat (Secretary), Amadi Rasheedat and Sokenu Bola as members.

Leave a Response